List of Distinguished Awards and Prizes

Search Tips for Distinguished Awards and Prizes:

• Users can search by category, research area, or both category and research area.

• To search multiple research areas, hold down “command” (for Mac) or “cntrl” (for PC).

• Users can search by nomination deadline. Select from the pull down menu if searching by deadline. In general, nomination deadlines for awards remain consistent year to year. Deadlines that have already passed are rolled over to the following month and year if they are annual awards. Please check the prize’s website for specific information on deadlines.

• To search all awards in the database, choose “Any” for category, don’t select a an option from research area nomination deadline dropdown menus

• Users can enter a keyword search. Keywords are taken from the name of the award and its general description as described on the award’s website.

• To perform a new search, simply enter new criteria for your search or select “Clear Search” to empty all fields.

• If you would like to include an award or prize that is not in the database, please contact
Edward Canton.

Title: AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

AACR and the American Cancer Society established this award in 1992 to honor outstanding research accomplishments in the fields of cancer epidemiology, biomarkers and prevention.

Nomination Deadline: 08/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $5,000

Title: AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship

This lectureship will recognize an individual scientist whose novel and significant work has had or may have a far-reaching impact on the detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancer, and who embodies the dedication of the Princess to multinational collaborations.

Nomination Deadline: 08/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $10,000

Title: Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research

The prestigious Pezcoller Foundation–AACR International Award for Cancer Research was established in 1997 to annually recognize a scientist of international renown: - who has made a major scientific discovery in basic cancer research OR who has made significant contributions to translational cancer research; -who continues to be active in cancer research and has a record of recent, noteworthy publications; and -whose ongoing work holds promise for continued substantive contributions to progress in the field of cancer.

Nomination Deadline: 08/10/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 75,000 Euros

Title: Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science

In 1971, the Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Resarch was established as an expression of the conviction that educational institutions have an important role to play in the encouragement and development of basic science as it applies to medicine. Medals are presented annually at Brandeis University on the basis of recommendations of a panel of outstanding scientists selected by the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center. Awards are given to scientists for recent discoveries of particular originality and importance to basic medical research. A $30,000 prize and a medallion (pictured) accompanies each award. Since its inception, Brandeis University has placed great emphasis on basic science and its relationship to medicine. With the formation of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center, made possible by the generosity of Lewis S. Rosenstiel in 1968, research in basic medical science has been significantly expanded. These awards are viewed as a means of extending the Center's support beyond the campus community.

Nomination Deadline: 08/31/2018
Past Due Date: 08/31/2012
Prize Amount: $30,000

Title: McEwen Award for Innovation, International Society for Stem Cell Research

The McEwen Award for Innovation, supported by the McEwen Centre for Regenerative Medicine in Toronto, Ontario Canada, recognizes original thinking and ground-breaking research pertaining to stem cells or regenerative medicine that opens new avenues of exploration towards the understanding or treatment of human disease or affliction.

Nomination Deadline: 09/07/2018
Past Due Date: 10/23/2013
Prize Amount: $100,000

Title: The Brain Prize

The Brain Prize recognises highly original and influential advances in any area of neuroscience, including fundamental research on molecular, cellular, physiological and pharmacological mechanisms, studies of behaviour and cognition, advances in technology for monitoring the nervous system, translational research on the application of basic knowledge to clinical and other problems of humankind, and clinical research on the causes, treatment and prevention of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 1 million Euros

Title: NBME John P. Hubbard Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the assessment of professional competency and educational program development at any level along the continuum of medical education and delivery of healthcare.

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount:

Title: The John and Alice Tyler Prize

The John and Alice Tyler Prize is awarded for environmental science, environmental health and energy conferring great benefit upon mankind; and medical discoveries or achievements with such worldwide implications that they significantly benefit environmental aspects of human health.

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $200,000

Title: Kyoto Prize for Basic Sciences

The Kyoto Prize is an international award to honor those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of mankind. The Prize is presented in the basic sciences for molecular biology, cell biology, and Neurobiology

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 50,000,000 Yen

Title: Inbev-Baillet Latour Health Prize

The InBev-Baillet Latour Health Prize differs from many other international science awards in that it seeks not to encourage fundamental research, but rather its most useful applications. As is the case with all prizes awarded by the Fund, its goal is to reward the scientific merits of a person - and not of an institution - and promote the continuation of his/her research. Changing theme each year. The theme for 2016 is infectious diseases.

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2018
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 250,000 Euro