List of Distinguished Awards and Prizes

Search Tips for Distinguished Awards and Prizes:

• Users can search by category, research area, or both category and research area.

• To search multiple research areas, hold down “command” (for Mac) or “cntrl” (for PC).

• Users can search by nomination deadline. Select from the pull down menu if searching by deadline. In general, nomination deadlines for awards remain consistent year to year. Deadlines that have already passed are rolled over to the following month and year if they are annual awards. Please check the prize’s website for specific information on deadlines.

• To search all awards in the database, choose “Any” for category, don’t select a an option from research area nomination deadline dropdown menus

• Users can enter a keyword search. Keywords are taken from the name of the award and its general description as described on the award’s website.

• To perform a new search, simply enter new criteria for your search or select “Clear Search” to empty all fields.

• If you would like to include an award or prize that is not in the database, please contact
Edward Canton.

Title: Millennium Technology Award

The Millennium Technology Prize is Finland's tribute to life-enhancing technological innovations. The prize has been established to steer the course of technological development to a more humane direction. In particular, the prize seeks to highlight innovations that assist and enrich our everyday lives today as well as in the future.

Nomination Deadline: 07/31/2019
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $1,300,000

Title: Nemmers Prize

Mechthild Esser Nemmers Prize in Medical Science is awarded to those whose body of research exhibits outstanding achievement in medical science as demonstrated by works of lasting significance. 

Nomination Deadline: 09/13/2019
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $200,000