List of Distinguished Awards and Prizes

Search Tips for Distinguished Awards and Prizes:

• Users can search by category, research area, or both category and research area.

• To search multiple research areas, hold down “command” (for Mac) or “cntrl” (for PC).

• Users can search by nomination deadline. Select from the pull down menu if searching by deadline. In general, nomination deadlines for awards remain consistent year to year. Deadlines that have already passed are rolled over to the following month and year if they are annual awards. Please check the prize’s website for specific information on deadlines.

• To search all awards in the database, choose “Any” for category, don’t select a an option from research area nomination deadline dropdown menus

• Users can enter a keyword search. Keywords are taken from the name of the award and its general description as described on the award’s website.

• To perform a new search, simply enter new criteria for your search or select “Clear Search” to empty all fields.

• If you would like to include an award or prize that is not in the database, please contact
Edward Canton.

Title: Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics

Every other year, the Dr H.P. Heineken Foundation awards one of the most prestigious prizes conferred in the Netherlands: the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics. In doing so, the Foundation draws attention to the importance of these two disciplines, including the biochemical and biophysical aspects of microbiology and the physiology of seed germination.

Nomination Deadline: 10/15/2015
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $150,000

Title: Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine

In 1989, the Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation established a biennial prize to be awarded to a pioneering medical researcher. The prize is also funded by the Foundation.

Nomination Deadline: 10/15/2015
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $200,000

Title: Hideyo Naguchi Africa Prize

Mindful of the ominous human suffering persisting in Africa, the region facing the most serious health challenge on the globe, the Prize aims to honor individuals with outstanding achievements in the fields of medical research and medical services to combat infectious and other diseases in Africa, thus contributing to the health and welfare of the African people and of all humankind.

Nomination Deadline: 07/10/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 1,000,000 Yen

Title: AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

AACR and the American Cancer Society established this award in 1992 to honor outstanding research accomplishments in the fields of cancer epidemiology, biomarkers and prevention.

Nomination Deadline: 08/17/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $5,000

Title: AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship

This lectureship will recognize an individual scientist whose novel and significant work has had or may have a far-reaching impact on the detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of cancer, and who embodies the dedication of the Princess to multinational collaborations.

Nomination Deadline: 08/17/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $10,000

Title: Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science

In 1971, the Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Resarch was established as an expression of the conviction that educational institutions have an important role to play in the encouragement and development of basic science as it applies to medicine. Medals are presented annually at Brandeis University on the basis of recommendations of a panel of outstanding scientists selected by the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center. Awards are given to scientists for recent discoveries of particular originality and importance to basic medical research. A $30,000 prize and a medallion (pictured) accompanies each award. Since its inception, Brandeis University has placed great emphasis on basic science and its relationship to medicine. With the formation of the Rosenstiel Basic Medical Sciences Research Center, made possible by the generosity of Lewis S. Rosenstiel in 1968, research in basic medical science has been significantly expanded. These awards are viewed as a means of extending the Center's support beyond the campus community.

Nomination Deadline: 08/31/2017
Past Due Date: 08/31/2012
Prize Amount: $30,000

Title: AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Award

The American Association for the Advancement of Science invites nominations for the AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Award. This annual award was established in 1985 by the AAAS Board of Directors and is presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting. A monetary prize of $5,000, a commemorative medallion, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting are given to the recipient.The Prize is awarded annually either to:

  • a public servant, in recognition of sustained exceptional contributions to advancing science, or
  • a scientist, whose career has been distinguished both for scientific achievement and for other notable services to the scientific community.

Nomination Deadline: 09/01/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: $5,000

Title: McEwen Award for Innovation, International Society for Stem Cell Research

The McEwen Award for Innovation, supported by the McEwen Centre for Regenerative Medicine in Toronto, Ontario Canada, recognizes original thinking and ground-breaking research pertaining to stem cells or regenerative medicine that opens new avenues of exploration towards the understanding or treatment of human disease or affliction.

Nomination Deadline: 09/02/2017
Past Due Date: 10/23/2013
Prize Amount: $100,000

Title: NBME John P. Hubbard Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the assessment of professional competency and educational program development at any level along the continuum of medical education and delivery of healthcare.

Nomination Deadline: 09/09/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount:

Title: The Brain Prize

The Brain Prize recognises highly original and influential advances in any area of neuroscience, including fundamental research on molecular, cellular, physiological and pharmacological mechanisms, studies of behaviour and cognition, advances in technology for monitoring the nervous system, translational research on the application of basic knowledge to clinical and other problems of humankind, and clinical research on the causes, treatment and prevention of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Nomination Deadline: 09/15/2017
Past Due Date:
Prize Amount: 1 million Euros